In 1942 Hargate came back into private ownership.
Successive well known private owners since that time have each contributed significantly to Hargates' revitalisation with the most recent rennovations by the current owners recapturing the original plans of the grand town home Joseph Humphreys had designed for his own family.
Due to its' architectural significance within Launcestons' built environment, Hargate was listed with the National Trust of Australia and the Tasmanian Heritage Council in 1979.
Hargate had the first Marseilles terracotta tiled roof in Launceston, (so named because the tiles were imported from Marseilles in France) and features a unique Italianate balustrade, rare individually gabled projecting corner bay windows, unique highly decorative and detailed verandahs with fine turned columns and bracketed eaves and an extraordinary and original cross check front fence and gates.
Importantly both the ornate verandahs and fence are made of the now rare and highly coveted celery top and huon pine, both endemic to Tasmania and arguably the most water resistant timbers in the world.
By good fortune Hargate retains every title deed of its' successive owners since its' original land holding was allocated in 1840.